A Gypsy's Tale - The Tower of SecretsA Gypsy's Tale - The Tower of Secrets
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of A Gypsy's Tale - The Tower of Secrets
TAR671 | Added on: October 15, 2010
 
I was becoming very frustrated with the quality of the last 6 or 7 games I played on this site; However, this game alleaved those frustrations. This is certaintly one of the better games offer in the recent past. This game requires a significant amount of jumping from site to site to complete the tasks, but as soon as you figure out how to use the map, you can move about very easily. The graphics are outstanding, the tasks challenging, and the twists in the story near the end comes a pleasant surprise. I really enjoyed this game, and I hope the sequel is not long in coming. Try this game, it is worth every minute you spend going throught it. HAVE FUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Shanoa | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
Hm this is the type of hidden object game that makes you search for the item to 'unlock' the item you need. Most the items are in the same place. But there is quite a bit of backtracking. There is a nifty feature that allows you to teleport from place to place if you find all the crystals in that area. Storyline is nice, and leaves it wide open for a sequel.
MJ1234 | Added on: December 28, 2012
 
This game was a lot of fun to play - challenging but not frustrating. I liked how you found an object and then had to find other objects to put that object in your inventory. The story was good and is set up for a sequel...
jillibilli | Added on: April 11, 2011
 
If I could give this one more than 5 stars, I would. Probably one of the best HOGs I've played. Totally engrossing trying to find the right objects, figure out what to do with them, and solve the story. Storyline is unobtrusive, which I love -- I hate to get caught up in dialogue. You really need to use your noggin and powers of deduction to finish the game, and it's a long game. Great value!!!
bernergirl | Added on: May 4, 2011
 
More than just a find the items game. You interact with the screens and figure out problems. Sometimes frustrating knowing exactly how to go about the task, but that's probably because I'm not a patient person.
majormojo | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game on many levels. the art work is good, the story line involving and the puzzles are also very good. got lost a couple of times, but found the remedy by just looking around. great fun.
JGauci | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
Almost every aspect of this game required the finding of and the use of the Crystals! That, and the constant search for items are the causes of my addiction! I had so much to do in fact, I ended up writing my own walkthru so I could keep tabs on everything. The ability to jump from location to location was very handy, even though there is no timer to worry about. Don't hesitant to ask Reylin for help--her clues and hints will prove to be very invaluable indeed. Enjoy!
bella24 | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
This is not a beautiful game, nor one with a deep story line - it's doesn't even have the sound thing down - but, it is NOT the Same Old Hidden Object Game (SOHOG - my acroynm) and I applaud it for that. I played through the entire hour of the trial period and even considered using a credit to finish it. (I decided to wait and download a few more before I blow my last credit). There's a lot of switching back and forth through scenes - which can annoy some - and a lot of trying to figure out what they want you to do next. But, you are searching for things that make sense - like paint, to finish a painting. Help reloads quickly, if you get stuck and there is a list that tells you (generally) where to go next. Not a bad game, not a great game but, not a SOHOG either!
gypsymagic | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
Very nice game but very hard to achieve the numbers of crystals required to buy the breathing thingh under water.
IronRaziel | Added on: October 1, 2010
 
This game's story line was okay. There were several times I had to use hints to find crystals, and few other well-hidden objects. The crystals play an important role in the game but that's something you'll have to find out. I think a possible sequel to this game might come but unsure...The ending was not excellent, in my opinion. This is a good game to fill your time.
fitters | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
Really have enjoyed playing..............a good thinking game. Keeps you on your toes.
bendale | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
Started off with high hopes, but this turns out to be one of the very few games I've uninstalled without finishing. The game "cheats" in that there is no logical way to work though the main game on the basis of mere logic and observation. Even with the aid of a walkthrough there was no logic to it. The graphics and sound are good, the storyline is a bit off, but the lack of logic in the game play was a complete turnoff to me.
MountainRosie | Added on: September 27, 2011
 
I really liked this game. the scenes were quite different looking and beautiful and it was fun how it took you back and forth from one area to another. good games in it too!
Rapanui | Added on: October 1, 2010
 
Truly enjoyed this game! Not your typical HOB! Hopefully there's a sequel???
2minikids | Added on: December 4, 2012
 
I found it too involved and did not like having to search for bits and pieces of an item, some of which were so faint they could not be recognized. I watered seeds longer in the game than I do in real life! Personally I did not like it at all.
pattypaws | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
I really had fun with this game - getting all the crystals in each scene is a must so you can use the map to navigate. The story was fun - I love games where you have to move all over the place to complete a puzzle - I did get stuck a few times but all in all this was great fun.
NannyJoan | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
Loved the game, kept me on my toes. Am going to play again - without the help of the map
Bobbyboo | Added on: October 1, 2010
 
A good game for people who are getting sick of the basic hidden object game - there was backtracking, but it was easy as there was a map to use to pop back and forth. Some hidden objects and some potion making and other types of puzzles. I didn't find it very hard, but it was enjoyable!
Jocasa | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
The type of HOG where you have many puzzles to solve, travel around quite a bit and when you click on a needed item it turns into a mini hog. The story line was interesting and the ending was unexpected. I would definitely find all the crystals in each scene. It makes moving around so much easier.
Dadcaregiver | Added on: October 14, 2010
 
Great HOG, but not your typical game, which I really loved and would like to see more like this. I used my fun pass to play and then ended up purchasing so I can replay and let my granddaughter play. Thanks for such an awesome, fun game.
Mierke | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
A gypsy's tale is a pretty complicated game, but so much fun to figure out. Instead of just looking for objects based on a list, you really have to think about what you have to look for to proceed and where to find them and how the different objects fit together. You have to move a lot through different locations, but contrary to other HO games like this that I've played, you had a map on which you could pinpoint the locations - if you had found all the crystals in the location. This made the movements way quicker and made sure that they didn't limit the enjoyment of the game.
PoostAcres | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
Our family loved this puzzle/hidden object game. You have to think about what to do next, and that's a big part of the fun. There was enough help that you don't get stuck, but not so much that there's no game to the game. My family really enjoyed this one.
PipCat | Added on: April 1, 2011
 
What a great game! Very involved but a pleasure working through all the tasks. Thank you VERY MUCH developers for the map you can use to instantly travel to areas you've been to before (assuming you've found all the crystals & that the map pieces have been added to your map). I think I would have been annoyed if that one small piece of the game hadn't been there. As it stood, I did find the need to reference a walkthrough a few times when I was just plain old stuck but it did not diminish the game playing experience at all. Graphics are very well drawn, the characters engaging, and the storyline just vague enough to keep you coming back for more. I do believe this is suitable for teenagers. You should definitely give this one a try. It would be GREAT if there was a sequel in the works!!!
tbug53 | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
I truly enjoyed this game I got so involved with playing that I stayed up to 3:15am playing it to the end,this is something I never do but I just kept going to next task to the next.. Would love to see more games like this.
funk49fres | Added on: October 15, 2010
 
I loved this game so much that when I finished it, I started over. It is very challenging and so much fun. The graphics are wonderful and I love the music. If you are a hidden object phanatic like me, this is definetely the game for you.
jkjennings | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
This was totally different and lots of fun but where to find things was not obvious and I had to go from scene to scene looking for objects. The hints were absolutely no help at all. Hints did not direct you to the right location, often just told you what you already knew. Could have been a lot better game if only there had been some help. The story line was unusual and the mini-games creative and fun. If you don't mind having to check a walkthrough every now and then, then play this one.
Junnie | Added on: April 26, 2011
 
This is one of the best HO/adventure games I've played. A great idea of finding gems to obtain a map to jump to different locations. I loved the whole story line and was pleased to find that there was help at hand if required. The graphics were great and it wasn't bogged down with too much dialogue through the game. Looking forward to developers making a sequel or similar.
emi1 | Added on: October 8, 2010
 
i found myself very intrigued by this game. it's a HOG that u go from location to location finding items/doing tasks. i had to go back and forth A LOT, and most times i had to try and try to figure out what exactly i needed to do. there was help, but i still found myself stuck. BUT...i can't believe how fast the demo hr went by. i didn't get frustrated as i sometimes do with this type of HOG. instead i was very motivated to figure out and complete my objectives. the demo hr has made me want to know how this one ends. u've gotta try it!!!!
suzieq76 | Added on: October 27, 2010
 
I did not think I was going to like this game, but after playing a while, I found that I didn't want to stop playing. The graphics and story line are great. I do not think it is Kid Friendly. I have only played through 6 levels and am anxious to get back to it. Can't comment on replay value, but I certainly am going to enjoy playing it through for the first time. I admit that I have had to get assistance from the walkthrough site for one of the puzzles.p
RandiM | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
I really like this game, I love when this site comes out with games like this one. You go into all these scenes and you have multiple things to do for each of them. Some are easy, some aren't. The puzzles are mostly different and they range from being easy to challenging, one of them I skipped. All in all, this game is great. Good job!
globug | Added on: July 18, 2011
 
I Loved this game. Graphics were great. Story was interesting. I loved that you had to figure things out on your own, but had help if needed. LOVED IT!
Angel37128 | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
Great game!! It is very challenging game, and has good graphics.
DarkChylde | Added on: October 14, 2010
 
I thought the graphics were excellent, the storyline was okay, with the ending a little bit weak. I wish I could agree with the rest of the reviewers that this was a great game, but I found myself bored starting about halfway through. I did keep going until the very end just to see what happened. It didn't raise my enthusiasm at all. I think part of it was the fact you had to run all over the place to do different things. I do mean ALL OVER. The clues were not plentiful, and I found myself getting frustrated trying to figure out what to do next or what else I needed to find. I did persevere, and I'm glad there was a map that you could jump from place to place, instead of "walking" back and forth the entire time, because I would have quit and uninstalled the game.
nvyank | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
It's been a while since I played a game that was so challenging! Can't wait for the next one!
sportygal2009 | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
As my title says I found this game to be a "breath of fresh air" so to speak as I really wouldn't call this a "hidden object" game because it's not like the usual ones where you have a list of items to find. This game is far beyond that as you don't have a list of items to find. In this game you have to perform certain "tasks" to move forward in the game. More like a problem solving or finding some things to "unlock" and move forward. So If you like games like this and also a game that gives you little to no direction really on what to do, then this would be the game in my opinion. This game requires traveling back and forth locations but as mentioned in another review, your trips are not wasted as you will always just stumble upon things to do and really no "wrong order" of doing things. . Every thing you are finding in this game along with finding crystals has a purpose and the crystals also play a very important part in the game. Most of the game I found to be pretty easy but some parts of the game VERY challenging and I'll even admit to a wee bit confusing and even frustrating. Hints most of the time helpful, sometimes not. The puzzles ranged from easy to quite challenging and I did skip a few. The graphics I found to be beautifully done as I can tell the creators put some time and thought into this. I also enjoyed the story which could be wide open for a possible sequel to this which I sure hope so. Overall I give this 5 stars as I found this game to have way more "WOW" to it than confusing or frustrating. So give it a whirl and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. : )
JellyQueen | Added on: April 1, 2011
 
I really like this game. I wasn't to difficult to find what was needed. It was original and different from other HOG. The story line was good and interesting. Finding some of the ingredients was a little challenging, but we dont want games to be too easy do we. I did feel it was a little short thought. Certainly worth trying out.
jacquiemain | Added on: June 3, 2011
 
I tried to download this game when it was a free daily download-- it kept freezing and i couldn't get it to work but i played enough for it to interest me and the reviewers seemed impressed so i bought it-- and i am so glad! it is one of the best games i have played if not the best. Some parts are very tricky but i woke up to them and thoroughly enjoyed the challenges of trying to proceed without resorting to a walkthru- which i didn't-- very proud of myself! I would recommend this game to anyone- it really is a goody! P.S. It is also the first game that i have bought that i paid full price for and i don't begrudge a cent.
DarkDragon | Added on: March 30, 2011
 
I really like the story, and the hint about what happened in the past won't be revealed as much except until near the end of game. The story's twist is very engaging. The graphics of the game is very beautiful and well done. The HO and puzzles are great, not too easy and not too discouragingly hard, and I enjoyed all of them. The hint recharges fairly slow, but not too slow. This is one of my favorite games, I'll recommend it to any one who loves HOG with great storyline and graphics.
Mvval | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
worth buying; interesting format; good story; good length
chaneld2005 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
This game was so much fun. At times it was a bit challenging and hard to understand, but once you get the hang of how the game works its a sinch! and tons of fun! I love it and I would be delighted if they came out with a sequel! <3 Loved the graphis as well!
Smedley | Added on: March 14, 2011
 
This game is too slow moving. The tutorial is ok, but the directions (guide/hints) are weak at best. Too easy to get lost (would be good if you could move from one site to another). Seems outdated when compared to so many other HOGs. Some cute scenes: goblin blacksmith, and the queen at the end; puzzles are ok, but again, a general lack of combining with the plot. Too clicky. Could be fun with the kids.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: April 1, 2011
 
This game took me days to finish. I had to use the walk through a lot but it was very fun!
rwisti | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
Wonderful!! Gameplay, graphics, story line everything was perfect.
mavethrave | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
I am really glad I gave this a go. It was great. It has a good story line, good graphics, very challenging puzzles and all in all it is great entertainment. I spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out where to go next but if you get stuck there are hints that will help although they won't always just give you the answer you are looking for. They will at least let you know you need to go elsewhere. Some of the puzzles were extremely challenging. I think this game really has something for everyone and since they obviously set it up for a sequel, I hope it comes out soon.
Jem888 | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
I enjoyed playing this game and thought it was worth purchasing. Nice graphics and a good storyline, I could see a sequel to this being produced. I thought it was going to be a cake walk but in fact some of the puzzles are challenging...no need to worry though as you get hints. The ending was a little weak but all-in-all I quite enjoyed playing this one. You have to go back and forth between locations but unlike some HOG's you aren't tied down to playing scenes out in a specific order (I find it frustrating when playing a HOG where I try to do something sooner than the game will let me).
ellkin | Added on: October 14, 2010
 
Loved this game a lot, intriguing and good story, the game was quite challenging at first till i knew how to get around but lots of hints available, i found its best to get all the chrystals in each part, so you can move around from the map much easier, the graphics were excellent, all in all great game
rchrdtppr | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
no dialogue, little clues, more moving around... i found myself thinking ahead as to what i would have to "guess" The hint filled quickly and when i did not need the hint i was not penalized for clicking. would have liked more hidden objects to find. all the hogs were used to find a necesary tool that you could at least use in many locations, many of the items could be used multiple times - for example, i learned to keep the water bucket filled and ready. it just took time to find leads and move on with the game.
princess2step | Added on: August 18, 2012
 
After repeatively trying to find objects to continue to no avail, my husband and I deleted the game!!!
Mimi77 | Added on: October 19, 2010
 
I think this is the best game I've purchased from GH this year. I loved the story, HO, mini games and having to figure things out. It's very involved and the graphics are awesome. I definately recommend this game.
bertab | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
Enjoyed the hidden object and puzzle features, had a good twist non-ending. Sequel in the works? It was fun and relaxing, but not sure I would play multiple times.
ibtlb | Added on: October 13, 2010
 
Really enjoyed this one! Lots of moving around. Challenging yet not too hard! Good Fairy tellish story. Just plain fun!
jelebele | Added on: June 1, 2011
 
This game really makes you think and use logic. You can't assume anything. You are required to go back to different areas that have already been visited because things can change. Really loved the challenge!
bushrat | Added on: November 3, 2010
 
I am still enjoying this game. I have not had time to finish it as I have been ill. One of the best I have played in a long time.
gina62 | Added on: October 21, 2010
 
This game is awesome. Its very challenging and I like that. I like how one section has something to do with another . I like how you can move things around. I haven't played many but this would be my game of choice. This type of game. Just all over the place.
kylakitty | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
A different type HOG for a change. No storyline; which is great for me as I don't play HOGs for their storylines. Graphics and artwork are not sub-par but basic making the objects for the most part easy to find. The game requires some thought as you move in and out of the locations. The puzzles were different and a couple challenging. A great game but I didn't see much replay value.
kruzinsuzan | Added on: December 6, 2012
 
I SAT AND PLAYED IT FOR 2 DAYS. FINISHED IT TODAY.
wjandy | Added on: October 21, 2010
 
I love the Hidden Object games, and this one has a few twists that are a bit unique. Keep them coming.
CarolynV | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
I liked this game for several reasons. The graphics were good, as was the story line. The ending fit with the rest of the story, which is seldom the case with a lot of these games. The characters were done with touches of humor, which I also found positive. The mix of thinking and logic was also good, and the help/support function was also very useful. I really enjoyed it.
Lisa522 | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
Unique and somewhat old-fashioned game. You are told at the beginning you must reach a tower to rescue a damsel in distress. Despite being told to hurry, the game has a decidedly relaxed and serene pace to it. Each scene has various crystals (used to obtain pieces of the map) and other various items you must collect. However, to pick up an item, it usually spawns a mini hidden object hunt within the scene. You must locate the items, drag them into a circle, and when you have finished, THEN you will receive the item. Something about this game comes across both as old fashioned, and also not the sort of game you'd see for sale online. It feels like a boxed purchase from a store and as if the game will have great length. I guess you could say it feels like an epic tale. The graphics are hand drawn and not bad at all. The game could stand to be a little bit more intuitive but I didn't really have much difficulty continuing on. Sometimes you think you have cleared a scene, only to come back and find that there are new ways to explore items you've already checked out. There seems to be a fair amount of backtracking but the map allows you to jump to any scene you have previously unlocked by gaining enough crystals. I don't think I will purchase this one, but do have an appreciation for what seems to be a fine game - just not really my particular style.
edtech30 | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
This is my favorite game. I love the interactions with the characters, the art design, the graphics and everything else. I wish all the games on here was as good as this one.
Garnetice | Added on: March 4, 2012
 
I really loved the uniqueness of this game. If you are looking for a 'by the book hidden object game' then this may not be for you. There is no actual hidden object scenes but whenever you see something in the game that you need to proceed you have to find half a dozen objects to unlock it. Very beautiful artwork and really made you think about what you've already done because you will have to revisit areas many times and do different tasks . The best part was it really pulls you into that world and when the game is over you can't wait to visit again. It also has a fulfilling ending with a lead that there is more to come :)
xenutia | Added on: October 1, 2010
 
This really is a delightful game, and very enjoyable to play. When I started playing I thought it would be quite an easy game, but it is really quite challenging in part and I did get stuck a few times. Although it's kid friendly, it might be a bit tough for some kids to play. The good thing is that it's one of those games where you can stumble about a bit and find out what you are supposed to do by accident by just clicking on enough things. This didn't get boring, because every time you went back to a scene you found something else that you needed to do or find, so no trips were wasted and it kept the game fresh and interesting. What I really liked was that it didn't seem to matter if you did things in the wrong order, it still seemed to get you to the right place in the end, no matter which bit you did first. There were lots of nice surprises enroute as well, which I really liked. I wasted bored for a single minute of the game, even though at times I was desperately lost. The graphics were really magical and beautiful, (in fact I was sorely tempted to pinch some for destop pics). The storyline was lovely and although soppy, really nice. The music was good, but I found it a bit heavy and after a while I turned it down as it grated a bit, but that's a small quibble. The mini games were either completely original, or reworkings of the old standards in such a way that they felt like new games, so full marks there. I did find some of them quite hard to solve, but there was a skip feature. All in all a really lovely 'feel good' game to play and certainly worth a replay, because there are so many ways of completing the game, it will almost certainly seem fresh every time you play it.
AmomD | Added on: June 25, 2012
 
This game has my youngest coming back to it time and again (yes I've joined her a time or two I find it thinky but just right) she loves the challenges and the story line.
glo4jl | Added on: May 16, 2011
 
This was the most challenging HO game I've played so far. The game didn't have a normal flow and I felt left out on my own to figure out what to do. You move from place to place, find clues, and then the objects appear for you to find. You have to really use your powers of deduction as to where to go next and what to do. I've used more hints then I'd like to admit but they weren't all that helpful. I did lose track of the storyline and it came together for me towards the end. The graphics were good although some of the objects were too dark to find easily. I'd recommend it for the challenge and that it's different than most HO games.
MarieTherese | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game because of the story line was not talky, but was interesting. I liked the twist at the end. I prefer this type of HOG, because you find objects that are actually useful. The graphics were excellent, and the game was challenging without being discouragingly difficult. The objects were not so obscure that you just want to quit and do something else. I recommend this game.