A Girl in the CityA Girl in the City
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of A Girl in the City
DDsMOM | Added on: March 16, 2011
 
This was one of the most boring games I've played - the wait time between "scenes" was extremely long. Also, the story didn't flow well. Wouldn't recommend.
bernergirl | Added on: May 3, 2011
 
The mini games were a little different and that was good. A bit slow loading pages. Cool to learn about New York, but I don't think Ground Zero and the Twin Towers were at the same time.
emi1 | Added on: April 11, 2011
 
i don't like this game at all. the items were easy to find. the game makers did a lousy job with spelling. there's just not a lot to say....
Lebaroness | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
This is my first review of a game, as I can usually take them, or leave them. But with this one, it actually got on my nerves sitting SO much watching the wristwatch (instead of an hourglass) on the screen while waiting for the scene on the screen to change to the next room, building, etc. I saw more of the watch than it took to play the game. It did not take a full hour before removing it from my computer. Don't waste your time/money on this one.
vrm123 | Added on: July 20, 2012
 
I found this game to be an extreme yawn fest. Thank goodness I did't buy this one because I would want my money back. The "hidden" items were not hidden and what is it with that watch!!! I saw more of it than I did the game itself. There are other puzzle games as you progress through but those too were simple. Not a challenging game at all. Take a pass on this one.
loucksn | Added on: July 21, 2012
 
Nice concept of following a story line. But I think the puzzles could be a bit harder. It is unique for a hidden object game, so that is why I gave it three stars
Tiafl | Added on: May 6, 2013
 
The game presents a challenge simply trying to figure out how it works. I did not play in timed mode and would probably be beside myself if I had. A couple hints as you are playing: - The magnifying glass on the left enhances screen viewing and you can move the scene you are viewing. Click again to go back to normal. - You have to click next to get to the next screen not of the words you are reading. - Find stars in the scenes to get hints added up to six. The bottom square on the left shows your available hints. - The double lines on the left will give you options such as to exit the game. Seasoned HO gamers will enjoy the challenge of this game without dark scenes and gore while using previously learned knowledge to figure out how the game works. The puzzles were unique and challenging. Another hint - the lit areas in the shoe puzzle will show more shoes on the shelves. I am ready for the next one designed and produced like this one. The HOs don't need to be so distant though and need to be clear to see.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
This game is not only annoying, it is stupid too! No wonder it is on sale for $2.99. I am so glad I read the reviews first before buying it. Instead I just downloaded the trial. It isn't even worth $2.99! Get rid of this game, Gamehouse!
sameyers | Added on: March 16, 2011
 
Cute concept, but VERY short. I liked the mini games, but there is really nothing very challenging in the game. I did find some of the scenes so over-crowded with small objects that it was sometimes hard to tell what things were. I thought with tweaking, the storyline could be good, but as it stands, it's rather weak.
Nana2 | Added on: March 16, 2011
 
BORING! One of the worst games I've seen and I play lots of HO games. The objects were difficult to see as the graphics were not well done. Map of NYC was so small, you could hardly make out the locations. I have a Fun Pass membership so I could have played it for as long as I wanted. I deleted it after about an hour, that's how boring it was. I would not recommend buying it.
TAR671 | Added on: March 15, 2011
 
I tried to play this game;however, it is so slow loading between scenes and other activities, that I could not maintain any interest in this game at all. It took me a pot of coffee to get through the first few scenes of the game, for example if you have to skip out of a puzzle, it take over 3 minutes to shift scenes. I cannot see this as a childs game, as no child I ever met could sit still long enought to wait for this game to play out. This game reminds me of the quality of HOG game 5 or 6 years ago, when we had little else available.
TxJolie | Added on: March 18, 2011
 
I have been a Real Arcade/Gamehouse member for years now, and this had to be the most boring, insipid, pointless game yet.
haley458 | Added on: March 15, 2011
 
This game had a lot of irritating factors, which greatly outweighed anything positive about it. The graphics were dull and objects were hard to see (and only reacted some of the time even when you clicked them correctly), and the scenes were repetitive. It was a very easy, no-challenge play; with extremely simplisitic mini-games. But the worst thing about this game had to be its story -- it was completely pointless, uneventful, and even cheesy. At one point you think that the story might pick up as a character is revealed to have "ulterior motives", but then the issue is dropped completely. Overall, I found this game to be a total flop.
PipCat | Added on: March 16, 2011
 
I usually try and make it through a game at least once before I offer up a review but after 30 minutes of this one I pulled the plug. The graphics are grainy and there's really no challenge to this one at all. I should have known it wasn't worth the effort when the "instructions" (and I use that term loosely) informed you that the little number in the bottom left hand corner was the number of hints available to you for the entire game and it started at 3. It's slow loading between scenes which just made me want to scream. This one's not for me.
devi | Added on: March 16, 2011
 
This is what I call a filler game. A game you play when you have nothing better at the time. It's your basic HO without any bells or whistles. No interaction or navigation. No audio, just elevator music in the background. Very easy. Kid friendly. Characters were very nerdy. Some mini games were downright silly, like arrange playing cards in order, 1-10 according to suit. Definitely no thinking involved. I cannot recommend this game unless you absolutely have nothing else to do. Then again, maybe not.
Tayotae | Added on: September 14, 2011
 
This game if that is what you call it, is the worst game I have ever played. Not only are the graphics bad, but the whole game is a waste of time. Maybe the kids would not even like it. Yes, it is that bad.
C01P07 | Added on: September 20, 2011
 
I wouldn't recommend this game, I'm just pleased I downloaded it for free. Firstly, the story made no sense and the ending was terrible. The graphics are quite a let down and the music and background noise were on a loop that seemed to repeat every 20s so it got very annoying. Also the timed version is ridiculous in that it gives you about 50 seconds to finish a level.
kellamy | Added on: September 15, 2011
 
Despite the bad reviews, I wanted to play this game only because I love NYC so much. So I downloaded the free trial. My biggest complaint is that the objects aren't even hidden. They're out in plain view. The "timed" version does not give you nearly enough time to click on everything, so I wouldn't recommend that at all. The instructions are sometimes confusing, and each scene does take a long time to load. It could be a great game with some improvements.
allnurses | Added on: March 16, 2012
 
I happened to like playing this game. I downloaded a free hour, and, now, since I have a Fun Pass, I am going to be able to continue playing it. I think the whole New York thing is great. Incidentally, the person who was questioning whether the Twin Towers and Ground Zero had any connection.....Ground Zero IS the site of the felled Twin Towers. :(
copperpenny | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
This game will interest younger players; there were actually positive values implied, a nuance in the gameworld. The main character was sweet and unassuming, but quickly learned to adjust to the real world. Very different.
dowhaoo | Added on: June 20, 2011
 
This game was purchased on a special and it's a good thing - I would have been upset to have paid full price. Just terrible graphics and not challenging at all.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: March 15, 2011
 
This game can definately not compete with all the great games out there. Too many finding the same item 10 or more times, mini games were not for me, never could figure out the storyline. I will not be buying this one. Sorry Gamehouse but this game needs help
mavethrave | Added on: March 14, 2011
 
I guess it might be kid friendly but I could only take it for about 15 minutes. The very first scene was way too easy so right away I decided it was for kids. Very weak story line if one at all. Sorry, I don't think this will stand up next to all the really great hog game that have come out.
koolkaak | Added on: March 24, 2011
 
Too easy and too short, entire game plays in little more than an hour.